As I mentioned in a previous post, I was not too happy with the first iPad booksafe that I made. Being the perfectionist that I am, I decided to take all the lessons I learnt in making the first two (my original, and another for the wife) and make a third one for myself.

Without going into too much detail, I learnt that I needed a book that was thick enough, and with the right dimensions. I also learnt that to get the pages to align properly, one would need to cut them individually.

Without further ado, I present the “iBook” version 3.0
 

DSC_7302
As you can see, I added a ribbon “bookmark” for good measure…which also helps remove the iPad from the case.
 

DSC_7307
Lesson #1: Cut it deep enough (slightly more than half-inch deep), such that it would fit the iPad (even with the piece of felt)
 

DSC_7311
I smoothened the inside edges of the hollow by CAREFULLY cutting off any bits that stuck out, and used sandpaper finish it (after gluing the pages together, of course)…also stuck foam pads at the inside corners to hold the iPad snugly.
 

Finally, I think I am done…must say that I am really pleased with this final one.

===============================================================

A couple of weeks after making this, I also ordered a Pad & Quill case (Vol. 3). As any girl would know, you need a different handbag for different occasions. Right? Right. The same goes for iPad cases.

I researched similar cases (Dodocase and Treegloo) before deciding on the Pad & Quill, and have been really happy with it. Why Pad & Quill and not the others? For one, the others use paper linings. Have read in forums that these wear out and tear pretty easily. I also found a review comparing the Dodocase to the Pad & Quill…seems like the Pad & Quill is more sturdy and robust.

Here’s a quick review of the Pad & Quill case (Vol. 3)

According to the website, it’s made with bound leather and birch. The Vol. 3 is also lighter and thinner than the Vol. 2 (and comes with an elastic moleskine-like strap which I am a sucker for).

Best part is the service. You get really excellent and personalised service from the folks at Pad & Quill. I initially ordered the Vol. 2, but when the Vol. 3 was released, Brian Holmes (the president of the company) allowed me to change the order without any problems (even though my initial order was already processed). Also, how often do you get personalised service from the president of a company? How cool is that?

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I’m really happy with the Pad & Quill case. If you are in the market for a moleskine-type case, and are still undecided, I would strongly recommend getting it from the guys at Pad & Quill.

