DSC_9648
 

If you are a fan of the hilarious, clever, and totally irreverent hit TV cartoon series ‘Futurama’, you would’ve recognised that line as one of Bender’s pet phrases.

(You’ll also probably know what the last word is)

‘Futurama’ is an American animated science fiction sitcom created by Matt Groening (The Simpsons) and developed by Groening and David X. Cohen for the Fox Broadcasting Company. The series follows the adventures of a late 20th-century New York City pizza delivery boy, Philip J. Fry, who, after being unwittingly cryogenically frozen for a thousand years, finds employment at Planet Express, an interplanetary delivery company in the retrofuturistic 31st-century. (Wikipedia)

I never caught the original airings because I don’t think they were broadcast in Singapore back then. When the show was eventually brought to Singapore television, they were usually not at the primetime slot. Anyhow, I got hooked after borrowing a DVD of Season 1 from a friend some years back. One thing led to another, and I ended up borrowing all four seasons. 15 discs, 72 episodes, and many weekends later, I was hooked.

All this time, I had contemplated getting my own collection. However, the price of one season of the show was pretty prohibitive. I searched trusty Amazon, but never really felt compelled to go ahead and order it.

Until now.

I happened to chance on this collector’s edition of the complete series last December while searching for something else. To make the deal even sweeter, it came with four full-length ‘Futurama’ movies that would have had to be purchased separately. Best of all, the discs are stored in a replica of Bender’s head (and it comes in a box mimicking the “talking head” jars in the series). And the price for this was half of what I would’ve paid if I were to get everything separately. Go do the math…

I did, and I ordered it in a snap (as a Christmas present for myself). It was even cheaper to ship to Singapore, than to ship it to the address I was staying at when I was in NY (because of the tax in NY).

Anyhow, it arrived in mid-January and I have finally finished admiring it. I foresee many more wasted weekends.
 

DSC_9645
Talk about a head case…
 
 

DSC_8923
It even comes with a letter that is worded in the spirit of the show! The item I ordered is #1888 of 25500…not as limited edition as I’d initially thought.
 
 

IMG_1153
This is what the letter says. You better get out your reading glasses…
 
 

